Skip to content

Sabbath and Sunday… can I keep both days?

August 5, 2011

I received an email from a reader recently,  posing a few greats questions on keeping both Sabbath and Sunday.  With his permission I have posted the entirety of his email below:

Hey, I’ve looked all over the net for an article that talks about how it is wrong to try and keep both Sunday and the Sabbath, or that it is at least an offense to God to keep Sunday. However, my search has been in vain as I cannot find even a simple Q&A regarding this subject. My reason for this search, is because I often hear the following questions after someone learns the Sabbath truth…………

“OK so Saturday is the Sabbath, so does that means that the keeping of Sunday is a sin?”or

“Is it ok if I keep both Sunday and Saturday?” or “Is it ok if I just rest on Sabbath, and regard my church-going custom to Sunday?”

These are very illogical and irrational, and even down right arbitrary questions, but they are still questions that often get asked and deserve an answer. So I would really appreciate it if you could show me an article or perhaps can give me something from your own writing to help answer the above questions thoroughly enough to be convincing, and of course added scripture would be great!

Those are all great questions, and I’ll do my best here in this post to answer them myself with the aide of scripture, or direct him to sources I find reliable.  Let’s start with the first one.

“OK so Saturday is the Sabbath, so does that means that the keeping of Sunday is a sin?”

I’d like to preface by saying this first, there is a simple and short answer to all these questions, and a more in depth study involving the Sabbath and how it relates to the end of times.  I’ll give the short simple answers here and try to summarize as concisely as possible, the deeper answers.

Is keeping or worshiping on Sunday a sin?  I get this question a lot when I present the Sabbath truth to Christians who worship on Sunday.  My answer is always NO.  Worshiping on Sunday is not a sin, no more than worshiping on Monday to Friday.  In fact, we should be worshiping God at least daily, with our families, or through personal devotion. 1 Chronicles 16:29 states:

29 Give to the LORD the glory due His name;
Bring an offering, and come before Him.
Oh, worship the LORD in the beauty of holiness!

What is the problem then?  It’s what you do with your time on the Sabbath that counts.  You see, for most Christians, corporate worship is a once a week event, and aside from mid-week prayer services, or Friday night vespers, it almost always falls either on the Sabbath or Sunday.   That means, for most Christians, the Sabbath is their “free” day in the weekend to enjoy themselves.  I used to work retail, in various stores and sectors, and without fail, Saturday was the biggest, most profitable of the week.  My managers would often comment to me that I’m missing out on easy commissions by opting out of working Saturdays.

In contrast, Sunday is the more mellow day of the weekend, due to it historically being the day of worship, particularly in the US where certain states had blue laws and commerce on Sunday was restricted.

So if you’re only worshiping on Sunday, while dilly-dallying around on the Sabbath, I would consider that a violation of the 4th commandment. Which leads us to the next question:

“Is it ok if I keep both Sunday and Saturday?” or “Is it ok if I just rest on Sabbath, and regard my church-going custom to Sunday?”

I personally see no problem with that.  Only God can judge where your heart is, and if the intent of worship is right, and you’re not in violation of any of the Sabbath principles laid out in the Bible, by all means worship on Sunday as well.  In fact, while you’re there, teach your brethren about the Sabbath truth.   I know it’d be hard to all of a sudden just leave the church that you’ve been attending for so long, with friends, family, and relationships that you’ve developed over the time there.  However, I’d also suggest attending a Sabbath-keeping church on Sabbaths as well.  You’d get a double blessing on the weekend.  Besides, you can meet new people, engage in further Bible study, as well as participate in various ministries and outreach programs that the local church may have.  It’d be a lot better than staying home and doing nothing all Sabbath.  Besides, Isaiah states  God’s people will continue to worship God on the Sabbath:

22 “ For as the new heavens and the new earth
Which I will make shall remain before Me,” says the LORD,

“ So shall your descendants and your name remain.
23 And it shall come to pass
That from one New Moon to another,
And from one Sabbath to another,
All flesh shall come to worship before Me,” says the LORD.

As far as great resources on the Sabbath/Sunday issue, here are a few links I recommend:

http://www.sabbathtruth.com/ for all your Sabbath related needs 🙂

http://amazingdiscoveries.org/s-deception-Sabbath-break-rest-day – Amazing Discoveries have the best Creation seminars I’ve seen (The Genesis Conflict), easily refuting arguments made by evolution proponents.  Check them out.

Any my Sabbath studies of course:

Colossians 2:16

Sabbatismos

Sabbath or Sunday: Examples in the NT

Does 1 Corinthians 16 prove Sunday worship?

Romans 14 talks about Fasting, not the Sabbath

Did the early church keep the Sabbath?

Which law did Christ nail to the Cross?

Acts 20:7 – Does Breaking Bread = Church Service?

Revelations 1:10, What day is the “Lord’s Day”?

Questions for Sunday Keepers

I was actually going to write more to answer the deeper theological ramifications of the Sabbath vs Sunday issue, but I’ll leave it for my next post, as it is indeed a pretty deep study.  Hope these simple answers suffice, and be on the lookout for the next post.  God bless.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

