Skip to content

Revelation 1:10, What day is the “Lord’s Day”?

February 26, 2010

A verse many Christians, including “apologetics ministries“, mistakenly use to prove that Sunday is the true day of worship is Revelation 1:10:

10 I was in the Spirit on the Lord’s Day, and I heard behind me a loud voice, as of a trumpet, (NKJV)

The logic behind their thinking is this:

Sundays today are often called the “Lord’s Day”, therefore John must have been talking about events happening on Sunday.

However, that is called eisegesis, or putting your own ideas and interpretations into the text.  We have to let Scripture be its own interpreter.  Luckily for me, most of the research was done for me by Mr. Cogwriter in his excellent piece on this very verse.

I highly recommend reading the article, as he goes into great depth to answer this question.  However, to save you some time, I’ll sum up his whole article in a few quick points:

Main Point:  The Lord’s Day refers not to a day of the week, but of the end-time judgment.

The Book of Revelation is prophetic (Revelation 1:1-3).  The prophesies include events leading up to, as well as after, the time referred to in the Bible as the ‘Day of The Lord’.  The Book of Revelation specifically lists events that the Old Testament prophets stated would be near the ‘Day of the Lord’.

Hence it is clear that Revelation 1:10 is not talking about Sunday as certain theologians suggest.  Instead, the Book of Revelation lists many events that occur around the prophesied “Day of the Lord”. And that is the biblically logical conclusion.

Here are supporting points:

  • There is no Biblical support for Sunday being the “Lord’s Day”
  • From a strictly biblical perspective, the only ‘Lord’s Day’ is the seventh day Sabbath.
  • It was Jesus who specifically claimed to be “Lord of the Sabbath” (Mark 2:28).
  • The context of the verse itself with a “Loud voice” and “trumpet” suggests end time events (see 1 Thes 4:16).
  • Revelation is a prophetic book, John was likely talking about a future events.

There you have it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 7:08 pm

    Nicely said! It is fascinating how countless Christians assume that Sunday is the Lord’s Day. I prayed, studied and struggled with this for a number of years, but in the end I concluded the majority public opinion was incorrect. Not only is the biblical “Lord’s Day” between sunset Friday to sunset Saturday, as you stated, the passage in Revelation refers to the general period of time encompassing end-time events.

    Many blessings,

    http://www.learnthebible.ca
    http://learnthebibleca.wordpress.com

    • March 1, 2010 5:35 pm

      Thanks. I’m glad you’ve realized the truth. God bless you in your ministry.

  2. February 28, 2010 12:59 am

    Glenn, why aren’t my comments showing up? Afraid of the truth? Would love to see you respond.

  3. February 28, 2010 12:39 pm

    I haven’t deleted any of your comments, I do moderate the ‘Un-Christlike’ ones, and you know what I’m talking about.
    I just find you the biggest hypocrite out there. You quote in your posts 1 Peter 3:15

    15 but in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect,

    Yet your posts and comments are far from that. Sad to say, it’s “Christians” like you that turn people away from Christ.

    • February 28, 2010 1:08 pm

      You can lie, kick, scream, and hurl false accusations all you want. It doesn’t change the truth: you’ve been proven wrong at every turn and you are blind to the truth.

      If you want to continue, though I know you won’t because you are ill-equppied to do so, you will have to come over to my site. Where I don’t delete comments just because they prove me wrong and then claim they were un-Christlike but don’t prove such.

      I sure hope that your law will save you because I’m not sure you even follow Christ. I do pray I am wrong, though.

      • February 28, 2010 1:10 pm

        Exactly what I was talking about.

        “You can lie, kick, scream, and hurl false accusations all you want. It doesn’t change the truth: you’ve been proven wrong at every turn and you are blind to the truth.”

        It seems to me that you’re more accurately describing yourself.

Leave a Reply

